Jared Carter

Jared Carter was born in 1939. He studied at Yale University and Goddard College, and is a veteran of the U.S. Army. He has worked as a newspaper reporter, and as an editor for Bobbs Merrill.

He won the Walt Whitman Award in 1980 for his first collection of poems, Work, for the Night Is Coming (Macmillan, 1981), selected by Galway Kinnell. Subsequently he won the Indiana Governor's Arts Award in 1985, the New Letters Literary Award for Poetry, judged by Philip Levine in 1992; the Poets' Prize (awarded annually for the best book of verse published by a living American poet) in 1994; and the 2002 Rainmaker Award for Poetry, judged by Marilyn Chin. He has also won fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and National Endowment for the Arts.


Work, for the Night Is Coming (Macmillan, 1981)
After the Rain (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 1993)
Les Barricades Mysterieuses (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 1999)
Cross This Bridge at a Walk (Wind Publications, 2006)
A Dance in the Street (Wind Publications, 2012)
Darkened Rooms of Summer (University of Nebraska Press, 2014)
The Land Itself (Monongahela Books, 2019)

Read more about Jared Carter.

. click to order