Books grouped by city; cities listed alphabetically: C ~ D

A ~ B

C ~ D

E ~ M

N

0 ~ Z





Search this site powered by FreeFind










Hubbard, Rita L., AFRICAN AMERICANS OF CHATTANOOGA: A History of Unsung Heroes. (Charleston: The History Press, 2007). NEW copy, trade PAPERBACK. Over 100 black & white photographs. 160 pages.
~~ Beginning in 1541 with Hernando de Soto's Spanish expedition in search of gold, African Americans have held a prominent place in Chattanooga's history. Author Rita Hubbard chronicles the ways African Americans have shaped Chattanooga, and presents inspirational achievements that have gone largely unheralded over the years.

$20.00








Bates, Richard F., THE GREAT CHICAGO FIRE AND THE MYTH OF Mrs O'LEARY'S COW. . NEW copy, trade paperback. (Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2005[2002]). 7x10, 90 photographs, appendices, notes, bibliography, index, 350 pp.
~~~ The Great Chicago Fire of 1871 swallowed up more than three square miles in two days, leaving thousands homeless and 300 dead. Throughout history, the fire has been attributed to Mrs. O’Leary, an immigrant Irish milkmaid, and her cow. On one level, the tale of Mrs. O’Leary’s cow is merely the quintessential urban legend. But the story also represents a means by which the upper classes of Chicago could blame the fire’s chaos on a member of the working poor.
~~~ Although that fire destroyed the official county documents, some land tract records were saved. Using this and other primary source information, Richard F. Bales created a scale drawing that reconstructed the O’Leary neighborhood. Next he turned to the transcripts--more than 1,100 handwritten pages--from an investigation conducted by the Board of Police and Fire Commissioners, which interviewed 50 people over the course of 12 days. The board’s final report, published in the Chicago newspapers on December 12, 1871, indicates that commissioners were unable to determine the cause of the fire. And yet, by analyzing the 50 witnesses’ testimonies, the author concludes that the commissioners could have determined the cause of the fire had they desired to do so. Being more concerned with saving their own reputation from post-fire reports of incompetence, drunkenness and bribery, the commissioners failed to press forward for an answer. The author has uncovered solid evidence as to what really caused the Great Chicago Fire.

$37.50



Collins, Mas Allan, CHICAGO CONFIDENTIAL. NEW copy. Hardcover with dust jacket. Signet Books, 229 pages.
~~~ Chicago 1950 - the target of America's first-ever congressional inquiry into organized crime. Big trouble for anyone who knows where the bodies are buried, and Nate Heller has buried more than a few of them himself. He has no illusions about his civic duty - he prefers to stay alive and in business, mixing with the likes of starlet Jayne Mansfield and singer Frank Sinatra. But certain high-level gangsters, including Sam Giancana and the Fischetti brothers, aren't so sure Heller will stay discreet. After all, the private eye's partner, ex-cop Bill Drury, is cooperating with the feds in a big way. And soon Heller finds himself at the center of a federal squeeze play as Red-baiting senator Joe McCarthy weighs in with his own threats . . . and a strange hidden agenda. When Drury becomes the target of Syndicate assassins, and a troubled showgirl is sadistically victimized, Heller stands up against the mob - not in court, but with his own brand of rough justice.

$22.95

Highsmith, Carol M. and Ted Landphair, CHICAGO: A Photographic Tour. Crescent Books. NEW copy, Hardcover with dust jacket (coffee table size), 128 pages.
~~~ Chicago, A Photographic Tour is the perfect souvenir for anyone familiar with Chicago, and an excellent gift for anyone eager for a sense of the strength and style of this quintessential city of the American Midwest.

$30.00



Klatt, Wayne, CHICAGO JOURNALISM: A History. . New copy, trade paperback. (Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2009). 6x9, 38 photographs, notes, bibliography, index, 320 pp.
~~~ This history of Chicago journalism is framed against the larger landscape of American media and the ways in which technology and mergers have altered news gathering and presenting. The book demonstrates how daily operations at the newspapers and broadcast stations have changed with the times. Audience tastes and interests ran a parallel course with technology, a sharp decline in print readership, competition in television news, and the explosion of the Internet.

$45.00

Lowe, David Garrard, LOST CHICAGO. Watson-Guptill Publications. VG, coffee table sized PAPERBACK, 261 pages.
~~~ These dazzling, poignant pages recreate the magical built environment - grand residences, hotels, theaters, and department stores - that thrilled generations of Chicago residents and visitors alike before falling victim to the wrecking ball of "progress."

$30.00

Monroe, Steve, '57, CHICAGO. Chicago: Talk Miramax Books. NEW copy, trade paperback, 226 pages.
~~~ In the tradition of James Ellroy and Elmore Leonard, a hard-boiled thriller set in 1950s Chicago during the tense buildup to a high-stakes boxing match. Bobby the Lip, a scheming down-on-his-luck sports promoter, intends to score big by setting up--and fixing--a bout between Tomcat Gordon, the reigning heavyweight champion, and Junior, a young black contender. But everyone wants a piece of the action, and the Lip soon finds himself having to outsmart a hungry little crowd of crooks, bookies, detectives, and mob goons.

$12.95



Schlecke, Konrad, DOWNTOWN CHICAGO'S HISTORIC MOVIE THEATRES. . NEW copy, trade paperback. (Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2012). 7x10, 194 photographs, appendices, bibliography, index, 201 pp.
~~~ The story of downtown Chicago--its early development, later struggles, and current restoration--is mirrored in the history of the theatres that occupied its streets. This vivid chronicle tells the tale of the Windy City’s theatres, from mid-nineteenth century vaudeville houses to the urban decline and renewal of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Discussed are the rebuilding efforts after the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, the first nickel theaters showing "moving pictures," the ornate silent movie palaces, the move to "talkies," the challenges of the Great Depression and the introduction of television, and urban decline. Today, Chicago has preserved some of its most historic movie palaces, landmarks of cultural vibrancy in its reawakened downtown. With nearly 200 photographs from the Theatre Historical Society of America, this work brings to life all of the theatres that have enlivened Chicago’s entertainment district, reflecting the transformation of downtown Chicago itself.

$49.95

[Terkel], Tony Parker, STUDS TERKEL: A LIFE IN WORDS. Henry Holt & Co, 1996., NEW copy, hardcover with dust jacket. First Edition. "
Studs Terkel: A Life in Words is the story of a broadcasting and writing phenomenon and represents the remarkable result of a sequence of meetings between the two supreme masters of the tape-recorded interview, America's Studs Terkel and Britain's Tony Parker. For forty years, Studs Terkel's daily radio talk show, based in Chicago, has won him national recognition. His best-selling books, including Hard Times, Working, and his Pulitzer Prize-winner "The Good War," are classics of oral history and have brought him international fame. In this meeting of the maestros, Tony Parker recounts Terkel's life story using Terkel's own method, that of the tape-recorded interview. Through a kaleidoscope of voices - from John Kenneth Galbraith, Mike Royko, and Calvin Trillin to Terkel's office assistant, his family, friends, and the people with whom he's worked - the master interviewer gradually emerges. But the soul of the book is found in Parker's extended interviews with Terkel himself. This is the first biography with which Terkel has cooperated, and in a series of fascinating conversations we come to know not only the highlights of his life but also the personality of the man who can discover the essence of people's lives in their answers to his questions."

$25.00






Winegardner, Mark, THE MIDNIGHT MAN. NEW copy, TRADE PAPERBACK. Harvest Books, 565 pages.
~~~ Two youngsters from different sides of the track meet in early 1950s Cleveland and carry their romance through to the tumultuous Sixties.

$14.00











Estleman, Loren D., THE MIDNIGHT MAN. NEW copy, TRADE PAPERBACK. Ibooks, 278 pages.
~~~ An Amos Walker mystery. In Detroit's seamier side of life, Walker takes on a case of vengeance that heads to terrorism and assassination.

$14.00

Estleman, Loren D., MOTOR CITY BLUE. NEW copy, TRADE PAPERBACK. Ibooks, 244 pages.
~~~ An Amos Walker mystery. Tough-talking Detroit detective Walker is hired by a semi-retired gangster to find his enticing young ward--in 48 hours.

$14.00

Estleman, Loren D., THUNDER CITY. NEW copy, hardcover with dust jacket. Forge, 252 pages.
~~~ When the twentieth century was in its infancy, two things were invented that would spawn the two biggest industries in history. One was the automobile. The other was organized crime. Thunder City presents Detroit in the process of becoming Motor City. Harlan Crownover, scion of a great family of carriage makers, battles with his father to invest in a company run by Henry Ford, who has failed twice before in the automobile business. Desperate for funds, Harlan turns to Big Jim Dolan, the Midwest's most powerful political boss, and Sal Borneo, a visionary Mafioso struggling to bring the commerce of vice into the new century. Allies at first, they soon will be mortal enemies. At the crisis, only Edith Hampton Crownover, Harlan's troubled, aristocratic mother, will be in a position to shift the balance of power.

$22.95






Books grouped by city; cities listed alphabetically: C ~ D

A ~ B

C ~ D

E ~ M

N

0 ~ Z